Lost in Shadow by Cynthia Luhrs

Lost in Shadow by Cynthia Luhrs

Shadow Walkers – Book One

Colin, an ancient warrior, protects humans from evil in Edinburgh. He was betrayed by both his brother and his fiancée in the 1600s. Emily can see beyond the normal human realm into the realm of Light and Shadow. She is visiting Scotland when she sees him engaged in battle and tries to help him. By doing so, she has been involved intricately in his life; she has one week to break his curse of being a Shadow Walker. The consequences are too grim to be contemplated.

Emily was riding in a car with her then boyfriend, Charlie, as he sexted another woman. Charlie lost control of his vehicle, crashed, trapping Emily the car, under water. She was dead for about 10 minutes before being revived. She sustained many injuries, required several months’ recuperation, physical therapy, and she still felt seething anger toward men. Charlie walked away from the accident virtually unscathed, further adding to her bitterness.

Emily and her best friend, Kat, are touring Edinburgh when Emily hears the words, Beware the Day Walker…he comes for you.” Kat heard nothing. Day Walkers prey upon humanity; Shadow Walkers fight Day Walkers. They are both invisible to humans, unless they want to be seen. Then, there was Emily, able to see both fighting on Samhain’s Eve. What does this mean for the fight overall?

Cynthia Luhrs’ writing is exquisite. She creates a world of pirates, high intrigue, ancient gods, overly curious and protective policeman, evil immortals, kind and wondrous immortals, almost saintly mortals, and hope. Of course, there is also steamy passion. Luhrs understands that it is extremely important to incorporate scenes of passion into the context of the story and not to include such scenes simply for the sake of a sex scene. She is a master of plotting; her characters are divine – they almost created holograms of themselves, and walked off the page before me.

This is a must read. It is important to read this book before any others that may come out in the series. This book will provide important background information about the characters that will help if you intend to become an avid reader. This series is appropriate for both men and women but does have sex scenes, so if you’re easily offended, it’s probably not for you.

I received this copy through Goodreads’ Read for Review Program in exchange for an honest review.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s